Tommy Hafey inspires some reading

1 Feb

Tommy Hafey is a former AFL coach and motivational speaker – I first saw him when I was 14 and his simple, honest messages have always stuck with me. He’s a tough old bastard – 80 this year and still runs 7km each day, along with 200 push ups, 700 sit ups and a swim. I recently saw an article about him and he mentioned his New Years Resolutions; “read 24 books, go to the movies 12 times, visit six new places in my state, go to six concerts and take my wife to a new restaurant once a month.”

These are simple, measurable goals and I have no doubt that Tommy will achieve them and many more in his 80th year on this planet. I’ve written down my bucket list but I haven’t even broken down goals for this year, let alone posted anything on FG about it. So I thought I’d just get started by stealing one of Tommy’s goals – to read 24 books this year. I’ve got a tonne of books on my Amazon wish list so I’ll order some of those and get stuck in!

Update – 9th September: I’ve read three books so far and have plenty more sitting in my bedroom to get through!

  1. Post Office by Charles Bukowski
  2. American Assassin by Vince Flynn
  3. The Heart and the Fist: The Education of a Humanitarian, the Making of a Navy SEAL by Eric Greitens
  4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  5. Ham on Rye by Charles Bukowski
  6. On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  7. The Rum Diary by Hunter S. Thompson
  8. A World Made by Hand by James Howard Kunstler
  9. Patriots: Surviving the Coming Collapse by James Wesley Rawles
  10. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson
  11. Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman
Leave a Reply

